Axis Studios’ VFX arm in Bristol has worked on some of the most exciting and innovative TV series to date, including recent releases Chernobyl and Catherine the Great. We’re fortunate to work with amazing teams dedicated to pushing creative boundaries in the realms of VFX, which is why it’s an honour to have our work recognised. This year we’ve had the pleasure of being nominated for not one, not two, but THREE RTS West of England awards for 2020!

The Royal Television Society West of England today announced the shortlist of nominations for its annual awards, in association with Evolutions Bristol, in the fields of on screen talent, craft, animation, regional television news and across a range of factual programming including natural history and documentary. Axis Studios has scooped up three nominations in the VFX and Digital Creativity category for Aardman Animations’ Shaun The Sheep: Farmageddon, Happy! 2 for Universal and Hostile Planet for Plimsoll Productions. Howard Jones, co-founder and VFX supervisor at Axis Bristol says:

"Wow three nominations - Farmageddon, Hostile and Happy! This is fantastic and a great reflection of all the hard work each team put in, often going above and beyond."

The RTS West of England Awards is the only annual celebration of the region’s creative community. RTS chair, Lynn Barlow, who is Assistant Vice-Chancellor Creative and Cultural Industries at UWE, Bristol, and a documentary producer, comments:

“The West of England is now, rightly recognised as an international centre of excellence in film, tv and digital production and our judges had a really tough job this year, with entries from an impressive range of programmes from our public service broadcasters and streaming platforms, like Netflix. “In the year that welcomed Channel 4 to the West of England creative community, these awards are a great reflection of the exciting talent in the region”. 

The RTS West of England Awards will take place on Sunday March 29th at Bristol Old Vic. Let’s hope it’s a successful night - good luck to our team and all the nominees!

Read the full list of nominees here